Giving Opportunities to Young, Aspiring Ministers

Posted on Updated on

I am now in Florida, celebrating mine and my wife’s tenth anniversary. In my absence from my pulpit at Boone’s Creek, God really laid something on my heart. He basically said, “My son, you have three young men in your church who feel a call into the preaching ministry. You know My hand is on them. Give them an opportunity to preach My truth.”

And so this morning, I just got off the phone with Eric Masters who will be preaching this morning. Eric has grown up at Boone’s Creek and I know the temptation he may be facing — for I faced it sixteen years ago. Since this is his home church and he is preaching on Sunday morning, the temptation is to make the home church folks proud. As I prayed with him, I simply prayed that his authority and grounding would be found in God’s Word and in nothing else. You see, when I preached my first sermon as a 21-year-old in front of my home church, I was so concerned that I wouldn’t let them down, that I really butchered His Word because, in hindsight, God’s Word was not the focus of my sermon — those people were.

Cameron Potts, a college student at EKU, will preach tonight. Boone’s Creek is not his home church, but we are his home away from home while he’s at college. Cam feels a call into the preaching and pastoral ministry.

Bo McMillan will preach on Sunday morning, August 10. He’s also a college student at EKU as well. He feels a call to work with Campus Crusade for Christ.

God has gifted each of these young men in different ways. We would do well to remember Paul’s admonition to Timothy:

2 Tim. 3:16-4:5
All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righ teousness, [17] that the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work.
[4:1] I charge you in the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who is to judge the living and the dead, and by his appearing and his kingdom: [2] preach the word; be ready in season and out of season; reprove, rebuke, and exhort, with complete patience and teaching. [3] For the time is coming when people will not endure sound teaching, but having itching ears they will accumulate for themselves teachers to suit their own passions, [4] and will turn away from listening to the truth and wander off into myths. [5] As for you, always be sober-minded, endure suffering, do the work of an evangelist, fulfill your ministry.

Churches, are there young men being called out of your church into the ministry? Then take up the mantle to give them opportunities to serve and exercise their gifts among the body of Christ.

3 thoughts on “Giving Opportunities to Young, Aspiring Ministers

    Bret Capranica said:
    January 10, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    Matt, I am a DMin student at Southern Seminary and a pastor in Southern California working on a project that involves local churches in the formal education of future pastors. I understand you are doing something similar. I’d like to learn more from you and would love to make contact to hear some of your thoughts and approaches. Thanks in advance.

    Bret Capranica

    David Nelson said:
    November 4, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    Matt, I am a DMin student at Luther Rice University and I read on Doug Smith’s blog that you are doing your DMin project on training pastors. I am writing to see how it is going with your project. I have been doing this for 24 years.

    Aaron Filippone said:
    October 15, 2014 at 2:47 pm

    Bret, David, and Matthew…I’m working on a school thesis as well on integrating formal theological education with the local church. I would love to see some of your results or sources that were helpful in your research. Thank you. Aaronflip@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

